Multiple DUI Lawyer Phoenix
Arizona DUI Punishments Become More Severe with Each DUI Conviction
Under Arizona law, it is illegal to drive, or have control of a vehicle, while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
You can face a DUI conviction if the court proves:
- Your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was .08% or higher while operating or controlling the vehicle.
- Your blood alcohol concentration was .04% or higher while operating a commercial vehicle.
- You showed signs of impairment “to the slightest degree” from alcohol or drugs.
The court classifies a first-time DUI offense as a class 1 misdemeanor, whereas a second or third-time offense is often elevated to a felony charge.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, you need immediate legal representation to protect your rights. Contact our Phoenix DUI lawyers now: (602) 702-5431.
Second Offense DUI
If you are facing a second DUI charge, and it has been more than 84 months, or 7 years, since your first DUI conviction, the crime is a class 1 misdemeanor.
Depending on your BAC level at the time of the arrest, you can face a variety of punishments:
- If your BAC level was between .08% and .14%: the crime is a normal DUI, and includes penalties of 1 – 10 days in jail, a minimum fine of $250, and suspension of your driver’s license.
- If your BAC level was between .15% and .19%: the crime is called an Extreme DUI. Penalties include a minimum of 30 days in jail, $2,500 in fines, license suspension, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for 1 year.
- If your BAC level was greater than .20%: the crime is known as a Super Extreme DUI, and is punishable by a minimum of 45 days in jail, $2,750 in fines, driver’s license suspension, and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 18 months.
If you are charged with a second DUI offensewithin 84 months of your original DUI offense, the court will classify it as an Aggravated DUI. This type of DUI is a felony and involves harsher penalties, including a minimum 8-month prison sentence, a minimum $4,000 fine, a 1-year license revocation, and the mandatory use of an IID for 2 years.
Third Offense DUI
A third offense DUI is an Aggravated DUI if it occurred within the 84-month period of the initial DUI conviction. A conviction can result in a number of harsh punishments, including significant prison time, a minimum fine of $4,000, license revocation for 3 years, mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device, and mandatory community service.
If You Are Facing a Multiple DUI Charge, Contact Our Experienced Phoenix Defense Attorneys Now!
At The Knowles Law Firm, PLC, we are dedicated to fighting for your rights. Our DUI attorneys have decades of experience, and we have the tools needed to secure positive outcomes. Our team has the added advantage of previous law enforcement experience, giving us the upper hand in defending your DUI case.
Contact our Phoenix DUI attorneys today to discuss your case during a free consultation. Call The Knowles Law Firm, PLC today at (602) 702-5431.
Disorderly Conduct with Weapon Reduced to Misdemeanor
Theft of Means of Transportation Not Guilty
“We owe you Knowles. They are Arizona's top DUI attorneys.” - Thomas Mello
“Very professional, friendly and knowledgeable, ready to answer any questions and were just a helping hand during harsh times.” - Former Client
“Right away they found an error made by the prosecution and were able to get a significantly better plea offer.” - Former Client