License Suspension in Phoenix, AZ
Was Your License Suspended or Revoked for DUI?
Driver license suspension is a potential penalty of driving under the influence in the state of Arizona.
Upon conviction, your license may be suspended for a period of months or years by the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD). Your license could also be revoked.
The major difference between suspension and revocation is that suspension has defined start and end dates while revocation does not.
If you have been arrested for DUI or charged with refusing a chemical test, you can get in touch with a Phoenix DUI lawyer from Knowles Law Firm, PLC. We can fight for your right to drive at an MVD hearing.
Arizona Driver License Point System
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Department can automatically suspend or revoke any drivers driving privileges for the following reasons:
- Habitual offender status (frequent and serious traffic offenses)
- Reckless driving conviction
- DUI conviction involving alcohol, drugs or intoxicating vapors
- Under 21 and convicted for consumption or possession of alcohol
- Under 21 and convicted for a drug crime
- Any other offense that, as required by the statutes, results in mandatory revocation upon conviction
The MVD also has a point system. Once a driver has reached the maximum amount of points against their license, it can be suspended or revoked.
Below is a list of offenses and how many points will follow:
- DUI, Extreme DUI, Reckless Driving or Aggressive Driving- 8 points
- Hit-and-run or failure to stop for a traffic signal resulting in death- 6 points
- Failure to stop for a traffic signal resulting in serious injury- 4 points
- Speeding or driving over/parking in a gore area- 3 points
- Other moving violations- 2 points
There are different periods of license suspension for each type of DUI offense. For a first DUI with no aggravating factors, license suspension could be less than one year and you may be able to secure restricted driving privileges.
For second and subsequent DUI offenses, your license will be revoked for a period of 12 months. For aggravated DUI, your license could be revoked for three years.
If you are unsure of the license suspension penalties you could face, get in touch with Knowles Law Firm, PLC.
Automatic Suspension for Refusing a Chemical Test
In Arizona, refusing a breath, blood or chemical test after a lawful arrest can result in one year of license suspension without the possibility of hardship reinstatement.
Drivers who are charged with a second refusal within 84 months of the first refusal will face a two year automatic license suspension. Per Arizona's implied consent law, every driver is required to submit to a chemical test after they have been lawfully arrested under suspicion of drunk driving.
The field sobriety tests are not the chemical tests, so they can be refused. However, if you have been arrested and law enforcement asks you to submit to a test, you are required to take this test.
You can fight a license suspension by taking advantage of your right to an MVD hearing.
Phoenix DUI Attorney for Aggressive Defense
Was your license suspended? Whether you are looking to reinstate a suspended or revoked license, fight a license suspension at an MVD hearing or contest your criminal DUI charges altogether, get in touch with a Phoenix DUI attorney at Knowles Law Firm, PLC.
Our firm is committed to providing the best defense possible for individuals who have been arrested and charged with drunk driving.
Call today, and secure a free initial case evaluation to discuss your charges, your rights and the best course of action for your case.
Disorderly Conduct with Weapon Reduced to Misdemeanor
Theft of Means of Transportation Not Guilty
“We owe you Knowles. They are Arizona's top DUI attorneys.” - Thomas Mello
“Very professional, friendly and knowledgeable, ready to answer any questions and were just a helping hand during harsh times.” - Former Client
“Right away they found an error made by the prosecution and were able to get a significantly better plea offer.” - Former Client