Phoenix Traffic Lawyer
Arizona Moving Violation Citation Laws
If you were cited for a moving violation such as speeding or reckless driving, this could potentially result in a license suspension or even a revocation in the case of repeat offenses. Did you know that you can fight your tickets? By paying a ticket and going to traffic school, it is like admitting guilt.
Just as is the case with a typical criminal offense, you can hire an attorney to fight your traffic ticket and prevent it from negatively impacting your driving record and possibly your insurance rates. The Phoenix traffic lawyers at Knowles Law Firm, PLC may be able to assist with your citation so that you don't have to face the penalties.
Arizona Driver's License Revocation, Suspension & Traffic School
If your driver's license is revoked, there will be a $20 reinstatement fee as well as the potential requirement to submit a Certificate of Insurance document (SR-22). Driver's license revocation is different than suspension. Moving violations such as driving under the influence of drugs, vehicular homicide and aggravated DUIs are just a few of the ways to get your driving privilege revoked. A first-time simple DUI will not be enough to get your driving privileges revoked, however, a second or subsequent DUI conviction will be. Two counts of reckless driving or racing on highways will also constitute a revocation of your license.
Having your driving privileges revoked can be viewed as a more permanent removal (that can be reinstated in most cases) while suspension is more of a temporary loss of driving privileges. The similarity between the two is that with both, the individual will have to apply for reinstatement.
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT), "If you accumulate 8 or more points in any 12-month period, you may be require to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS), or your driving privilege may be suspended up to 12 months." If you fail to attend require traffic school or you continue to drive on a suspended or revoked license, you could be facing misdemeanor charges.
Arizona MVD Points System
In the state of Arizona, a license can be suspended or revoked based upon "points" a driver has incurred on their driving record. The Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) keeps track of these points.
Listed below are the traffic offenses and their corresponding points:
- DUI- 8 points
- Extreme DUI- 8 points
- Aggressive Driving- 8 points
- Reckless Driving- 8 points
- Failure to stop or yield causing death- 6 points
- Hit and Run- 6 points
- Failure to stop or yield causing serious injury- 4 points
- Driving or parking in a gore area- 3 points
- Speeding- 3 points
- Other moving violations- 2 points
Some traffic offenses equate to more than just an infraction and points against your license. For example, if you are cited for aggressive driving a second time within two years, then you are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor and a 12-month license revocation with the MVD.
Tell Us About Your Case, We'll Tell You How We Can Help
While it is not necessary to hire an attorney to fight your moving violation, it can be extremely beneficial. The Phoenix traffic lawyers at Knowles Law Firm, PLC are familiar with court procedures and can make sure that you don't have to pay, get points counted against your license or face traffic school if you can avoid it.
To learn more about fighting your traffic offense, please contact a Phoenix traffic offense attorney from the firm.
“We owe you Knowles. They are Arizona's top DUI attorneys.” - Thomas Mello
“Very professional, friendly and knowledgeable, ready to answer any questions and were just a helping hand during harsh times.” - Former Client
“Right away they found an error made by the prosecution and were able to get a significantly better plea offer.” - Former Client