Phoenix Traffic Offense Lawyer
Were you cited for a moving violation?
If you were cited for a moving violation such as speeding or reckless driving,
this could potentially result in a
license suspension or even a revocation in the case of repeat offenses. Did you know that
you can fight your tickets? By paying a ticket and going to traffic school,
it is like admitting guilt. Just as is the case with a typical criminal
offense, you can hire an attorney to fight your traffic ticket and prevent
it from negatively impacting your driving record and possibly your insurance
rates. The criminal defense lawyers at Knowles Law Firm, PLC may be able
to assist with your citation so that you don't have to face the penalties.
Arizona Driver's License Revocation, Suspension & Traffic School
If your driver's license is revoked, there will be a $20 reinstatement
fee as well as the potential requirement to submit a Certificate of Insurance
document (SR-22). Driver's license revocation is different than suspension.
Moving violations such as driving under the influence of drugs, vehicular
homicide and aggravated DUIs are just a few of the ways to get your driving
privilege revoked. A first-time simple
DUI will not be enough to get your driving privileges revoked, however, a
second or subsequent DUI conviction will be. Two counts of reckless driving
or racing on highways will also constitute a revocation of your license.
Having your driving privileges revoked can be viewed as a more permanent
removal (that can be reinstated in most cases) while suspension is more
of a temporary loss of driving privileges. The similarity between the
two is that with both, the individual will have to apply for reinstatement.
According to the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT), "If
you accumulate 8 or more points in any 12-month period, you may be require
to attend Traffic Survival School (TSS), or your driving privilege may
be suspended up to 12 months." If you fail to attend require traffic
school or you continue to drive on a suspended or revoked license, you
could be facing misdemeanor charges.
Arizona MVD Points System
In the state of Arizona, a license can be suspended or revoked based upon
"points" a driver has incurred on their driving record. The
Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) keeps track of these points. Listed below
are the traffic offenses and their corresponding points:
- DUI- 8 points
Extreme DUI- 8 points
- Aggressive Driving- 8 points
- Reckless Driving- 8 points
- Failure to stop or yield causing death- 6 points
- Hit and Run- 6 points
- Failure to stop or yield causing serious injury- 4 points
- Driving or parking in a gore area- 3 points
- Speeding- 3 points
- Other moving violations- 2 points
Some traffic offenses equate to more than just an infraction and points
against your license. For example, if you are cited for aggressive driving
a second time within two years, then you are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor
and a 12-month license revocation with the MVD.
Tell Us About Your Case, We'll Tell You How We Can Help
While it is not necessary to hire an attorney to fight your moving violation,
it can be extremely beneficial. The Phoenix criminal defense lawyers at
Knowles Law Firm, PLC are familiar with court procedures and can make
sure that you don't have to pay, get points counted against your license
or face traffic school if you can avoid it. To learn more about fighting
your traffic offense, please
contact a Phoenix traffic offense attorney from the firm.